Remembering Denai Vaughn . . . One of my Five People I Look Forward to Meeting in Heaven

I have always put my heart and soul in to every post that I write, as I believe that this is the best way to demonstrate my appreciation to you my reader who out of the vastness that is the Internet have either by chance or choice (or perhaps a little of both), deemed my blogs worthy of your time and my words worthy of your consideration.

It is a privilege that I do not take lightly, nor a confidence that I would take for granted.  This is of course one of the reasons why I rarely if ever take the time for what could be considered self-indulgent sentiments or careless ramblings that are of questionable value to you.  In essence while I may pen the words to a blog post, I have always considered these blogs to be yours with myself appointed the dedicated caretaker of its content.

That being said when I awoke this morning it seemed a day like any other.  Oldest daughter off to school, Jennifer and I reaching for our morning cup of energy . . . I do love that first cup of coffee, and tending to the needs of the still at home children while simultaneously working the keys of our computers in an effort to catch-up on the latest news and events that will shape the day’s creative process.

However, and unlike any other day, when I tapped my keyboard and began scanning my Facebook comment streams I was literally stopped in my tracks by the news that a dear friend had died in a tragic car accident the night before.

Denai Vaughn, age 37, a loving wife and devoted mother, was a fellow Blog Talk Radio host with whom on many occasions I had the opportunity to share the mike as both a guest on her show and as a host on mine.

What was most memorable about this dynamo from the Lone Star State who was known to all as The Networking Queen, was her boundless energy, her enthusiastic hope and her unwavering faith which transcended the virtual realms of the Internet to make a resounding impact in the very real world of those with whom she came in contact.

The sense of loss I feel as well as everyone who knew her is indescribable yet, intertwined within the grief is a victorious joy of having had the privilege to meet someone who was truly remarkable.

It is through her remarkable life that I am reminded of the great words of Albert Pine who said “What we do for ourselves dies with us, What we do for others and the world remains and is immortal.”  In this light Denai will always be with us for now and for always.

30

Comments
5 Responses to “Remembering Denai Vaughn . . . One of my Five People I Look Forward to Meeting in Heaven”
  1. jimbouchard says:

    Beautiful post about a beautiful person.

  2. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and feelings about Denai. This is a beautiful post. I just met Denai at an event in Dallas last month and was taken by her energy, warm spirit and kindness. We stayed in contact afterward and it was clear she loved her life, her family and her work immensely. Only knowing her for a short time, I can only imagine the impact she had on those who knew her well. My thoughts and prayers to all her family and friends, especially her husband and daughter. It was a privilege to be touched by you Denai!

  3. Alysha Live Radio says:

    So sorry to hear about her passing my prayers are with you, her family and supporters.

  4. Lynette Hoy says:

    Thanks for such a wonderful post! I share your feelings and miss her very much. I keep wanting to send a text or email and remind myself. I was her PR and Media Liaison, and we were always talking as you can imagine. She helped me a great deal and I love her muchly! She is richly missed and I hope to do a lot for her going forward, so much is left to be done in her honor!

  • Books Written by Jon Hansen

