Why I Like Blog Talk Radio: Reason No. 152

Leveraging social media tools (including the PI Window on Business Show on Blog Talk Radio), in conjunction with other mediums such as social networks produces results . . . here is what one client had to say:

“On Monday and Tuesday we are seeing a spike to 150-170 people. I think that is a combination of our PI Window update and the events posting we do in the groups on LinkedIn.”

On March 26th, 2009 I aired my first ever PI Window on Business Show on the Blog Talk Radio Network.  300 episodes later (and counting), the audience reach through the leveraging of Internet Radio in conjunction with other social media continues to amaze me.

Let’s face it, and while I wish I could say that it was all part of an elaborate strategy in which the results were not only planned but expected, the reality is that outside of an instinctual pull I never expected to hit the numbers that we are now privileged to enjoy through The PI Social Media Network.

This blog is a testimony to that fact.

When I launched the PI Window on Business blog in June 2009 primarily as a support site for the BTR show, we had a humble 217 visitors that first month.  By August 2010 our visitor numbers top 35,000 in that month alone.  Again, an expected result of a well executed strategy?  No, just the result of doing specific things that one loves to do.

In short, what I did you can do which is why I wrote my first book Your Show Will Go Live in 5 Seconds (Confessions of a Blog Talk Radio Host).

Leveraging the Power of Internet Radio

Leveraging what I refer to as the cornerstone mediums of an overall sound social media marketing strategy such as a Blog Talk Radio, gets you in the conversational game so to speak, by enabling you to connect with your audience at their points of interest.  It enables you to stand out from the crowd through the exchange of insightful and beneficial knowledge that individual audience members can then use on a practical, everyday basis.

In the example referenced in the opening paragraph of today’s post, I provide clients with access to what I refer to as Soundbite segments in which they can over a 5 to 10 minute time slot share their unique perspectives with the listening audience.  The benefit is that they do not have to commit to creating a self-produced full segment to air on a regularly scheduled basis right out of the gate, but instead and based on results, gradually move towards the possible launch of their own weekly show.

Eventually (and this is where my book(s) comes in), many will ultimately move on to creating and airing their own show, and in the process further expand their collective audience reach.

At the end of the day, it is the accessibility that mediums such as Blog Talk Radio provides to the proverbial masses that were at one time limited to only those larger organizations with big budgets, that are the strongest selling points.

So what is the next step . . . check out Blog Talk Radio (and of course my own show the PI Window on Business as I always like welcoming to new listeners), and then drop me a line if you have any questions.

Are You leveraging Internet Radio?

In the meantime, and as I always say at the end of each show, I look forward to sharing the virtual airwaves with you again in the near future!

30

Comments
2 Responses to “Why I Like Blog Talk Radio: Reason No. 152”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Earlier today I posted my article in the PI Window on Business blog titled “Why I Like Blog Talk Radio: Reason No. 152.” […]

  2. […] Socialized purchasing: Is it better to “socialize” your website or create your own social network? Posted On July 22nd 2011 By admin. Under News  Tags: Better, Create, Network, Purchasing, Social, Socialized, Website, “socialize”  . var addthis_product = 'wpp-258'; var addthis_config = {"data_track_clickback":true};Share|Earlier today I posted my article in the PI Window on Business blog titled “Why I Like Blog Talk Radio: Reason No. 152.” […]



  • Books Written by Jon Hansen

