Karma: Into the Dark Underbelly of White Slavery and the Sex Trade

“While having a seemingly harmless glass of tea at a bazaar in Istanbul, Meredith Fitzgerald, a beautiful soon–to–be married American doctor finds her privileged world turned upside down. It takes only seconds. As she’s waiting for the police to come collect an abandoned gypsy girl left in her keeping, Meredith’s vision starts blurring, the bazaar music turns into a high-pitched whine, and she recognizes the chloral hydrate in the tea taking hold of her body.”

So begins what has been called a gripping novel that takes the reader into the dark underbelly of the sex trade world.

While Karma is a fictional work by acclaimed author Nancy Deville, whose usual genre of health and wellness books have sold more than 650,000 copies, the all too real world of human trafficking has resonated with the author since her “hippie days” hitchhiking around Europe when the terms “white slavery” and “sex tours” were nothing more than whispered innuendos.

In short, this was a book that has been years in the making and now, with a distinguishable voice, Deville has decided to use her presence and influence to bring to light what for so many women and children is an all too real nightmare.

Joining me on the PI Window on Business on Wednesday, June 30th at 8:00 PM EST is author Nancy Deville, to share her perspective on her book, the real world of human trafficking and why she decided that now was the right time to tell this important story.

Nancy Deville

About Nancy:

I’m a native Californian, born in Inglewood, California. My education in writing began as a teenager living as a Navy brat in Japan where a lifelong habit of correspondence was ingrained.  I chose hitchhiking to India over going to college. Ten months of traveling—where I kept a fastidious journal (that was lost!)—solidified my love of observation, reading, and writing.
I returned to the States at age 21, having been gone for six years. In 1989, I was married and moved from Los Angeles to Santa Barbara where I was accepted to the University of California in Santa Barbara. When an English composition class rekindled my desire to write, I dropped out to write a novel. It was an early version of Karma. The manuscript garnered considerable attention both in the publishing world and in Hollywood but the public wasn’t ready for a story on sex trafficking.

My interest in health and cooking led me to team up with several doctors to write books on diet, adrenal burnout, and Chinese medicine, culminating in my sole authored book Death by Supermarket: The Fattening, Dumbing Down, and Poisoning of America. My health books have sold over 650,000 copies, and I’ve established a voice in the real food movement, something that I’m proud of, as I love helping people be healthier.

Throughout my nonfiction career I never forgot the story about sexual slavery and continued to read and research the subject, which I consider one of the most important social problems in the world today. The finished novel, Karma, is the product of my research into the subjects of sexual slavery, Hinduism, and the true meaning of karma.

Besides writing, my interests include Buddhist Metta meditation, reading, piano, yoga, hiking, cooking, entertaining, traveling, sewing, knitting, crocheting, interior design, and our whippets Charlotte Brontë and India. I live with my husband, John Davis, in an 1868 row house in the historic South End of Boston, Massachusetts.

Nancy’s Latest Book:

While having a seemingly harmless glass of tea at a bazaar in Istanbul, Meredith Fitzgerald, a beautiful soon-to-be married American doctor finds her privileged world turned upside down. It takes only seconds. As she s waiting for the police to come collect an abandoned gypsy girl left in her keeping, Meredith s vision starts blurring, the bazaar music turns into a high-pitched whine, and she recognizes the chloral hydrate in the tea taking hold of her body. In this gripping novel a confusing scenario grows yet more frightening as Meredith realizes that, like two and a half million women and children worldwide, she too has been abducted and swept into the dark world of the human sex trade. We watch in horror as the once confident, self-reliant doctor finds herself trafficked to Mumbai and trapped in brothel compound where she s expected to work as the doctor. But maybe, just maybe she s not as helpless as she appears. An accomplished first novel, heartfelt and compulsively readable. Written in the style of a memoir, Karma is a brilliantly crafted story of courage, friendship, and spiritual awakening.

Media Bite:

Trailer for Karma

Remember to use the following link to access both the live and on-demand broadcast “Karma: Into the Dark Underbelly of White Slavery and the Sex Trade,” on Wednesday, June 30th at 8:00 PM EST on the PI Window on Business on Blog Talk Radio.

30

Comments are closed.

  • Books Written by Jon Hansen

